Our network

Amendment adds 16 counties to disaster declaration | News

Title (Max 100 Characters)

Amendment adds 16 counties to disaster declaration

OKLAHOMA CITY– Families are still dealing with the mess left behind by Mother Nature and now an amendment to a disaster declaration provides more help for those residents.

Authorities announced that an amendment was made to Oklahoma’s major disaster declaration, extending public assistance funding to 16 counties.

The declaration consisted of five counties, including Lincoln, Oklahoma, McClain, Cleveland and Pottawatomie counties.

Those areas were originally approved for debris removal and emergency protective measures for damaged properties but the amendment extends that recovery effort to include permanent work.

Permanent work may include repairs to road systems, bridges, water control facilities and public buildings, utilities and repairs to parks and recreational facilities.

The amendment also added Atoka, Canadian, Coal, Hughes, Latimer, Nowata, Okfuskee, Okmulgee, Pittsburg, Pushmataha and Seminole counties to the list for both emergency and permanent work categories.

The organizations that are eligible for public assistance include state government agencies, local governments and districts, nonprofit organizations and federally recognized tribes.


For more information on the amendment, visit the Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management website.


Canadian County Deals

Canadian County Businesses

Upcoming Events near Canadian County

Community Sponsors